Smoke-free me

Today I am celebrating 3 months as a non-smoker and I couldn’t be more chuffed with myself! It’s like I want to brag about it to everyone I know. Seriously, I’m that annoying person who goes on about good it feels to not be smoking (although sometimes I secretly wish I could just take one more little drag). The strange thing is that it wasn’t technically my idea to quit smoking in the first place, but exactly 4 months and a day ago I went to my first smokenders meeting and 4 weeks later I had my last cigarette. Sounds simple, right? Not quite.

When you quit smoking, your life without cigarettes seem like the worst thing that can happen to you. You sit in bars wondering what the hell you would be doing when you no longer have a ciggie to occupy your time. You take a lifestyle inventory and realise that most of your decisions revolve around a little, smelly yellow & white stick.

To be honest, the first week was relatively easy and the second week wasn’t too bad. The minute you quit smoking your health and appearance improves drastically (it’s true) and people everywhere tell you how good you look. But after a while that all stops and you find yourself wondering if quitting was such a good idea. You start to contemplate the pros and cons of taking up that nasty habit again. Luckily, for some reason, the cons ALWAYS outweighed the pros and by avoiding social situations, where I would usually find myself craving a cigarette, I’ve managed to stay nicotine-free for all this time.

It hasn’t been easy. In fact, it’s been one of the toughest things I’ve ever had to do. But when I look back over the past 3 months I realise how much my lifestyle has changed for the better and I know it’s all because of the fact that I quit smoking. And that makes me happy. Very happy.

This entry was posted in Happy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

