A serious few days in bed

I’ve been housebound for the past three days now, thanks to my friend, the flu. He visits every now and again and we just have a grand old time. Together we’ve watched more Style Network reality shows than I care to mention (Where before meets after… ugh!), so I’ve decide to get my sorry self up from the couch and write something.

I’m really excited about a recent addition to my schedule. As of last week, Tuesday nights are officially movie nights. My reason for spending Tuesday nights in a dark cinema, with uncomfortable chairs, stuffing my face with popcorn and Whispers is simple. I recently came to the shocking dicovery that I had only been to the movies once since I moved to Cape Town about a year and a half ago. For someone who absolutely loves movies, that’s just absurd. So a few weeks ago my mom suggested I pick a day of the week and commit to go to the movies on that day every week. Picking the day was easy, since I’ve had a Ster-kinekor card since I was about 10, which means Tuesdays are half-price movie ticket days!

Now since I’m going to be watching lots of movies, I thought I might as well share my opinion on the ones I’ve seen and since no-one is paying me to do this, I can say whatever I want. Super. So first up (and my debut as movie critic) is: A serious man

Yes this is the latest offereing by the great Coen brothers and I was pretty excited to go see it. Come to think of it, I really don’t know why, I’m not actually a big fan. To be completely honest I find, their stuff a bit overrated. I guess that’s one of the pitfalls of making it big as directors in Hollywood. They know their movies will be well-received by critics and the rest of the audience who don’t “get it”, well they’re just not educated. So they become sort of self-indulgent and the quirky bits (which used to add a little something to a scene) now dominate the whole film and the rest of the story kind of falls flat.

This is very true for A Serious Man and I was quite unimpressed. It just felt really really long and as with most of their movies, there doesn’t seem to be a real point behind anything. If you’ve seen the trailer, you’ll know the movie is about a middle-aged Jewish man, whose life starts to fall apart and how he tries to deal with it all by seeing a number of rabbis (VERY brief synopsis). Now if that sounds like something you would enjoy watching (I’ll admit, I was intrigued), by all means go and see this. Just don’t expect anything more. I was extremely disappointed to see that some of the best moments were actually given away in the trailer. Don’t you just hate it when movies do that? A preview is supposed to be a ‘taste’ of what the movie is, not the whole movie. I expected there to be a whole bunch of funny moments and then just ended up sort of chuckling at the things I’ve already seen.

I’ll admit, the Coen brothers are an acquired taste and I knew what I was letting myself in for. I’m quite familiar with their dark humour and odd topics and I definitely wasn’t expecting light entertainment. But I also wasn’t expecting 90 minutes of misery. Even though there were some great moments (which no-one else in the cinema seemed to appreciate, weird), all in all this movie is not something I would watch again.

So there you have it, my first review. Now I’m gonna join flu on the couch for some Dallas Divas and Daughters.

This entry was posted in Crappy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

