Office hours

I’ve decided to get over the whole inspiration thing and just start writing. I’m not sure where I’ll end up but hey, it’s worth a shot. The journey might be bumpy and I might put forward a whole heap of rubbish, but at least I’ll get it out of my system and hopefully make some space for a bit of literary brilliance (one can hope). If not, well: “It’s better to have written crap than to have written nothing at all”, that’s what I say.

The reason that I am so adamant to start writing again is quite simple. Since I’ve made the choice to be a full-time freelance writer, my livelihood sort of depends on it and there will be no more lazing about, doing nothing. Just because I don’t have an office, doesn’t mean I shouldn’t have office hours, so from now on, 9-5 (minus 1 hour for lunch) will be my working hours, or what I like to refer to as my time”. This is not be confused with “me time”, where women generally spend a certain amount of time alone, generally relaxing and pampering themselves (I think it’s pretty clear from my previous post that the recent addition to the family will leave very little time for that for a while). No, “my time” is a little different and dare I say less self-absorbed than “me time”.

So what exactly is “my time”? It’s the time I would’ve had to spend at the office every day, had I not decided to work as a freelancer. The time I would have spent doing whatever the creative director or account executive wanted me to (“Maybe we should change that word to an ever so slightly more sophisticated synonym, no wait, change it back. Wouldn’t that one be better?”). The 8 hours I would inevitably have wasted on facebook, urban dictionary or Google, because there simply wasn’t any real work to do. I have on occasion killed many hours by blog-surfing and in in doing so  have stumbled upon some real gems, but come on. That’s hardly a productive way to spend a day.

Now, instead of following orders or worse, doing nothing, I spend that same amount of time, doing work that I actually need (and more importantly, want) to do. I have so many unfinished projects that I just didn’t get to while studying and I figured now is the perfect time to tackle them. I want to rewrite, edit and finish a novel, rework and compile a whole bunch of short stories, finish the film script I started, make a film from the script I actually finished, rethink and improve basically every ad campaign I worked on… the list is endless. Oh and then of course there is the time spent marketing myself (which is starting to become a little less awkward) and actually doing work for clients.

Yes, freelancing definitely comes with a few uncertainties and some pitfalls, but there is one major benefit. I get to work on my own time, at my own pace. Oh and did I mention no time sheets?

This entry was posted in Happy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

