Hey! Where’d the elephant go?

So it’s been almost a month since I’ve posted anything and really I have no excuse. I’d attribute this to a combination of laziness, apathy and mind mush. I haven’t had much to say, so I kept quiet. I think that makes sense.

But today, on a miserably rainy Cape Town morning, I think it’s time to get back to blogging. You see lately I’ve been talking to a lot of people about this thing we call ‘blogging’, and having not written anything myself in so long, I started to feel like a bit of a fraud. Kind of like the fat kid telling people to go to the gym. Was that mean? Sorry.

Now you’ll remember that my last post was about the little widget I’d added to the right, urging (without pressuring) people to nominate my blog for the 2010 SA Blog Awards. You’ll also remember that I was sort of conflicted on whether I should place it there or not. Well seems like some it wasn’t all that useless, as some people actually did click on the link (yes, Blog Stats tells you these kinds of things), but I found that ever since I placed it there I haven’t written anything new. Coincidence? I think not. It seems like the elephant on my blog did more than make a single post awkward for me, it made the whole process of blogging, well weird.

The nominations phase is now closed and I didn’t make the top 10 (shocker!), so I wonder: Was the whole month of complete silence worth the few nominations? Um, yes. You see not only do I think it’s great that some people went to the trouble to click on the link (muchas gracias amigos), but I also got a bit of a break from blogging, which put things into perspective for me. At the time I didn’t know I needed it, but having the nomination thingy there made me realise that I was starting to write for other people, instead of just writing for myself (which was why I started this thing in the first place). I also realised that writing for other people is much harder than I thought, because you actually think about the little things way too much and end up writing a lot of junk without ever hitting the “Publish” button. Be thankful, I spared you a lot of rubbish.

But now I’m back and ready to get back to doing what I love. No not that. The other thing. Writing. In order to do that however, I’m getting rid of a little something on the right that’s been bothering me for so long now…

"Sorry Dumbo. It's not you, it's me."

And just like that, it’s gone.

This entry was posted in Happy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hey! Where’d the elephant go?

  1. Ally_R says:

    You are so very right. I found myself doing the same about 2 months ago and took 2 weeks to get myself back again. And since doing that, my blog has become more popular and I get more and more comments from people saying that my writing style has improved, etc.

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

    • HC says:

      Thanks! It feels good to be back…

      Good luck with the awards, you’ve got my vote! And kudos on the milk tart recipe… I’ll be attempting it this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

