Made this. Love this. Wrote about this.

*Oh dear. I failed miserably at the whole PostAWeek thing. But instead of moping about it and trying to justify to myself why I am such an epic failure, I’m just going to move on and get on with it. It seems like every time I start blogging again there’s always a whole post on why I am writing again, which is silly. And boring. And not much fun to read. So FYI I’m blogging again and this time I’m not going to commit to X number of posts per week… I’ll just be writing whenever I feel like it and not writing whenever I don’t feel like it. Intro done.

While the past 4 months haven’t exactly been the most exciting of my life, it’s not like I’ve been lounging around doing nothing. Come to think about it, there have actually been quite a few developments in my life in the year 2011 (so far). No, I didn’t get engaged (which a lot of people my age seem to be doing) and I definitely didn’t win the lottery either (damn you Euromillions!). What I did manage to do is something that’s been long overdue… move into my own office. That’s right, I no longer work from home, which means my pyjamas days are officially something of the past. I now get up every morning, dress like normal people do and come to work. Yes I still freelance, so technically there’s no one who checks to see that I am actually at my desk or working. And yes I can still take break whenever I want, have super long lunches and go home whenever I feel like it, but at least I now have some sort of structure to my day.

Another great thing about being in an office for at least 8 hours a day is that I’ve had a lot of extra time (while I’m not doing actual work) to spend on the Internet, which of course has led to the discovery of some awesome websites. The World Wide Web really is an amazing place to procrastinate. One of my favourites at the moment is a DIY collective called Made This / Love This.  It was started by a girl called Indiana Adams, who posts new DIY projects on the 1st and 15th of each month. Once you’ve completed the project, you post a picture of the finished product to the site and look at all the pretty things other people have made. It’s quite fun, actually!

I’ve never been very good at DIY and have always considered myself to be somewhat of a safety hazard with a needle and thread, but I’ve completed the first project and I’d have to admit I was pretty pleased with the result. (So pleased in fact that it actually became a very good friend’s birthday present.)

The first project was a t-shirt scarf, which involved turning an old t-shirt into a funky-looking scarf.  Here’s how I did it:

Take old (cheap, rarely-worn) t-shirt...

(Use very sharp scissors to) cut into little strips...

Stretch out strips (until round and squiggly)...

... and TA-DA! (the masterpiece)

I managed to make this without seriously injuring myself or anyone else, so all in all it was quite an accomplishment. If you enjoy making things out of nothing (or new things out of old things), I suggest you have look at Made This / Love This. In the meantime I’m ready to get my sew on in the next project: Jorts – yes, you’ve guessed it, I will turn an old jean pant into sexy shorts… watch this space!

This entry was posted in Happy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Made this. Love this. Wrote about this.

  1. Ming-Cheau says:

    Wow! Nice one Henda! It looks slick!

Leave a Reply

